Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 110

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 111
Cuenca Tourist Guide - Uncover the Charm of Castilla-La Mancha - Tajmon

Cuenca Tourist Guide – Uncover the Charm of Castilla-La Mancha


Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 81

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 82

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 93
Share

5
(32)

Convent of San Pablo in Cuenca

The Convent of San Pablo (Convento de San Pablo) is one of the most charming and picturesque places in Cuenca. It is located on a rock over the gorge of the Huécar river, opposite the hanging houses. It is a former convent of the Dominicans, which has been adapted into a Parador de Turismo hotel.




The history of the convent dates back to the 13th century, when the Dominican order received lands from King Ferdinand III on the outskirts of the city, to build their headquarters there. In 1523, the construction of a new convent began, which was to be larger and more magnificent. The works on the convent lasted more than a hundred years and were financed by the bishops, the nobility and the city of Cuenca. In the convent lived famous Dominicans, such as St. Thomas of Villanueva, St. John Macias or Father Bartolomé de las Casas. The convent was also a place of meetings and discussions on theological, philosophical and scientific topics.




In the 18th century, the convent was rebuilt in the Baroque style, adding new decorative and artistic elements. In the 19th century, the convent was confiscated by the state as part of the so-called disentailment, or the sale of church properties. In 1896, the convent was sold to a private owner, who turned it into a factory. In 1929, the convent was again taken over by the state and declared a national monument. In 1936, the convent was partially destroyed during the Spanish Civil War. In 1940, restoration works began, which lasted until 1993, when the convent was opened as a Parador de Turismo hotel.




The Convent of San Pablo is currently adapted as a Parador de Turismo hotel, which offers luxurious rooms and services. From the hotel you can admire amazing views of the old part of the city and the hanging houses, which are opposite the convent. The hotel is open to guests all year round, and prices range from 100 to 200 euros per night.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 32

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!


Share