Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 110

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 111
Complete Guide to Guadalest - Discover Spain’s Hidden Gem - Tajmon

Complete Guide to Guadalest – Discover Spain’s Hidden Gem


Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 81

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 82

Warning: Trying to access array offset on false in /home/server076274/ftp/entajmon/wp-content/plugins/wp-last-modified/wp-last-modified.php on line 93
Share

5
(42)

Guadalest Castle

Guadalest Castle, also known as Castillo de San José, is one of the biggest attractions of this picturesque town. It is located on the top of a rocky mountain, which dominates over the valley and the lake. The castle dates back to the 11th century when it was the seat of the Muslim ruler Al-Azraq. It was often attacked by Christian knights who wanted to conquer these lands. In 1245, the castle was conquered by James I the Conqueror, King of Aragon, who granted it to the Vives de Cañamás family.




In 1335, the castle passed into the hands of Peter IV of Aragon, who built new defensive walls and a tower. In 1543, the castle was granted the title of marquisate and was passed on to the Cardona family. In 1644, the castle was destroyed by an earthquake, which caused part of the walls and tower to collapse. In 1708, the castle was again destroyed by another earthquake, which caused part of the rock to detach from the rest of the mountain.




In 1740, the castle was rebuilt by the Marquis de Guadalest, who built a new tower and chapel. In 1822, the castle was looted by liberal troops, who demolished the chapel and tower. In 1840, the castle was abandoned by the last Marquis de Guadalest, who emigrated to France. In 1993, it was purchased by the Guadalest city council and was declared a historical-artistic monument.




Guadalest Castle is divided into two parts: upper and lower. The upper part was intended for a cemetery, where members of the Marquis de Guadalest family were buried. There you can see tombstones with coats of arms and inscriptions. The lower part was intended for the defense of the population, who took refuge in the castle during sieges. There you can see the remains of walls, a tower, a chapel, and an entrance gate. From the castle, there is a magnificent view of the valley, the lake, and the town of Guadalest. To get to the castle, you have to go through a tunnel carved in the rock, which is called Portal de San José. The tunnel is 15 meters long and 1.5 meters wide. It is the only access to the castle and to the old part of the town.




The price at the time of writing this guide is: 4 euros for adults and 3 euros for children

Opening hours: every day from 10:00 to 18:00

Calle de Iglesia, 2, 03517 El Castell de Guadalest, Alicante, Spain

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 42

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.


Share
Exit mobile version